Gas Flow through VERY small pipe

Forum about flow calculators available on pipeflowcalculations.com and how to find solution for your fluid flow problem.
downybear

Gas Flow through VERY small pipe

Post by downybear »

HI,
This site is wonderfull - great work - Congratulations!!!
My problem - I am an electronic engineer, not "pipe-engineer", so I have had some additional work to be closer pipe-problems.
After few weeks I hope that I can ask no stupid questions here :).

So, currently I am trying to calculate LPG flow through the injector, which is in fact the valve, not "pump".
Injector and something like Venture nozzlee is connected between car's intake pipe and pressure reducer installed in car.
Pressure reductor has almost constant pressure on their output and is connected to injector valve input, but intake underpressure changes from 20 kPa to athmospheric when throttle is fully open.

I have to calculate current LPG flow using current value(s) of differential pressure(s), because while fast closing throttle on high RPM, pressure difference is very big and LPG load is too big.

I have read many times formulas here to implement it in my computer, but there are limitations and notices about diameters.

My typicals diameters are 8-12 mm (2*r) on the reducer output and 1,5 - 4 after nozzle (Venturi type, but not good calculated I think).

My question is - what I should change in formulas to use it for so small diameters.
Available data are:
D-input [mm],
D-output [mm],
pressure (kPa) on input,
(under)pressure on output,
LPG temperature.

Thank you in advance for any help :)
Regards
Mariusz
admin
Site Admin

Re: Gas Flow through VERY small pipe

Post by admin »

Some picture will tell more ...