Natural Gas Pipeline Commisioning Calculations Problem

Forum about flow calculators available on pipeflowcalculations.com and how to find solution for your fluid flow problem.
dingelde

Natural Gas Pipeline Commisioning Calculations Problem

Post by dingelde »

Hello,

I am a Canadian Engineer who works with a local Gas Company. The problem at hand is our company has an old spreadsheet that we have been using for many years. Unfortunately, no one can seem to follow the calculations of it. I have been going through the calcualtions, and I have hit a snag. Maybe someone here can help me out?

First, some background. For those who are not in the industry, when we install new pipe, we have to commision the line, which means pushing all the air out and replacing that air with natural gas. At the end of the new pipeline is a flare stack, where we ignite the gas and let if flare for awhile to ensure that the gas line is at 100% gas. The procedure is such that we 1. Install and air test the new gas line 2. Connect the flare assembly 3. Squeeze the existing main 4. Cut and fuse the existing main to the new main 5. Partially release squeezer and wait for flare.

Step 5 is the calcualtion part. Ultimately what we want to know, is 1. How long will it take to commsion the line to 100% gas? 2. What is the velocity of the gas in the pipeline? The spreadsheet that I have attached includes the velocitys through the flare stack, hose, and stub/valve as well.I apoligize for the length of this, but I felt it was necessary back ground info.

As for the specifics of my problem: